Finding Your Fulfilling Purpose-Christy Cox

1716817

An Interview With Christy Cox, author of Cries of Anguish & God’s Healing Truth.

Q: Share a little background about yourself.

A: I have been a Christian for 25 years, but many of those years, I did not walk strongly with God. I am a single mom with two adult children, ages 20 and 18. I served in the Air Force for 4 years working on F-15 jets after I graduated high school. Currently I manage 6 mobile home parks with two wonderful assistants, my Mom and my friend. And I am very excited to see all God has ahead for me and the new things He will teach me of Himself.

Q:  For God has “called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which as given to us in Christ Jesus before time began” (2 Timothy 1:9) When and how did you know what God’s plan was for you?

A: I knew the Lord wanted me to write a book at the end of 2011. He had put the burden heavy on my heart to use what He had been speaking to me in my journals. Then later, three different people told me out of the blue as I was praying for purpose and action that I should write a book.

Lastly the Lord gave me a scripture confirming it. Revelation 10:10 “Then I took the little book out of the angel’s hand and ate it, and it was as sweet as honey in my mouth. But when I had eaten it, my stomach became bitter.” My story was bittersweet, so when God gave me that verse speaking of the book and how it would feel writing it, it was His voice.

Later He gave me another verse towards the end of writing. Jeremiah 30:2 ““Thus speaks the Lord God of Israel, saying: ‘Write in a book for yourself all the words that I have spoken to you.”

Q: Once the Lord spoke to you about your purpose did you obey right away or did you struggle?

A: I felt led to obey right away. What I struggled with was endurance and many obstacles that kept pushing off what I desired to do. Once I know what the Lord is telling me to do, I don’t usually delay. It’s the deciding mode that takes time. Is this really You Lord or just me? What’s the direction or focus, etc.? As soon as I know it’s the Lord leading, God lets me run with it.

Q: What obstacles did you have to overcome and/or still run into?

A: The very first obstacle I faced was my son’s health crisis. I literally came back from a conference ready to start writing the next day and my whole life changed for 7 months. However, God wanted me to use that whole season in the book. But at the time, it just felt like another delay.

Busyness with work trying to steal my time away has been a constant obstacle. But the hardest obstacle to overcome is discouragement. The second guessing, thinking “Who is going to care about this anyway?” “Who do I think I am writing something about God?” The sense of inadequacy was always there. In those moments, I would pray for God to remind me of His words for me to go forth and ask the Holy Spirit to do for me what I cannot do. There was so much I didn’t know how to do, but trusting that God would show up at the next step of faith.

Q: Is what you are doing currently fulfilling? In what ways?

A: I feel fulfilled right now because I am obeying God in finishing this book and sense I am right in the center of His will. I have no idea what God is planning on doing with it, but it will always be my stone of remembrance of God’s presence being revealed in new ways to me. I don’t know what other blessings of fulfillment lie ahead after this book is out, but I know He has a purpose for me in it.

Another purpose God showed me during this journey is to walk in the gift He’s given to me, which is to give a word in season to those who are weary. When God gives me the verse to send to someone, it is always a sweet blessing. The confirmation of knowing that I actually discerned God’s voice in those moments and that someone else is lifted up by the Word of God is amazing. I believe God wants us all to have those wonderful moments of God doing something through us for another with the gifts He’s given to each of us. It lets us experience God’s presence in the moment and joy in blessing another. God even led me to a verse to describe what this gift looks like for me and what my heart is passionate about.

Release Date-Oct 10th Pre-order your copy today!

Release Date-Oct 10th
Pre-order your copy today!

Isaiah 50:4 “The Lord God has given Me the tongue of the learned, That I should know how to speak a word in season to him who is weary. He awakens Me morning by morning, He awakens My ear to hear as the learned.”

Q: Do you recall a time when you lacked peace about a job or situation and how God delivered you out of it?

A: Many times I have lacked peace in regards to my job in property management. I have to make many decisions and need wisdom all the time. I pray constantly for God to speak or to reveal truth or to just work out the situation for me. God has done that over and over for me. He defends me from sometimes evil forces (people). I lack peace and start fearing when I forget that God is greater than the people, greater than my bosses, and greater than my own weaknesses. Those are the moments I need a verse to stand on and lift the situation up in prayer.

Q: What advice to you have for women who are still searching to fulfill their purpose?

A: Sometimes taking an inventory of the spiritual gifts God has already given to you and what your God-given passions are can start to open your eyes to your calling. Then seeing what scriptures speak on those gifts, God may stir something in your heart. Prayer to ask God to show you how and where to start using those gifts He’s given you and the opportunity to develop them. He doesn’t start with the big things, He starts with the small and sees if we will be faithful in doing them. And then He will entrust more into our hands.


 

I would like to thank Christy for taking the time to be interviewed and she is also running a special giveaway for a chance to win a copy of her book.a Rafflecopter giveaway

Connect with Christy

Website: http://www.livinginthepromises.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/livinginthepromises

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Godly women, interview, Purpose

Leave a Reply

