How Rude!

A very important pet peeve of mine is DON’T BE RUDE!! The other day I was out shopping with my two kids who are 3 years old and one 16 months old, oh and yes I’m also 6 months pregnant. Needlessly to say getting in and out of the car can be a task so I try to plan it out beforehand to make it as easy as possible. This is how the plan normally goes…

I try to find a parking spot next to a shopping cart and also not right up front so I wouldn’t be in the way of someone. To be considerate I also try not to park next to other cars because I’m nice like that or I really don’t want to risk hitting there car with my door.  With this plan I normally am able to get in and out pretty easily and quickly.

However on this particular trip I was leaving and I pulled my cart with kids inside next to the car so I could easily lift them out and right into the car.  Before I could even open my car door a lady parked right beside me to the point now I’m stuck and unable to open the door!!! What made it worse was that there were plenty of closer parking spaces open!! ARGH!!! She looked at me while I tried to squeeze out with my cart so she could open her door to get out. I was steaming at this point and when she got out she didn’t say one word to me. I looked my daughters and very loudly sad “Some People are so RUDE!”

Once I got into the car and headed home I begin to feel very convicted about what I had said and my attitude poor this women. So that night I did some scripture searching on how my heart should have been in the situation.  Here are a few things I found…

but I say unto you, Love your enemies, and pray for them that persecute you; (Matthew 5:44)

above all things being fervent in your love among yourselves; for love covereth a multitude of sins: (1 Peter 4:8)

And of course 1 Corinthians 13

Printable found at www.thegirlcreative.com

Printable found at www.thegirlcreative.com

After reading all of these and many more verses on how important to be loving towards others, it got me to really think about this lady’s life.  I don’t know if she is a fellow believer going through a really hard time or a non-believer walking in darkness (1 John 2:11). Am I saying that from now on I am always going to love on everyone, of course not! I am human and unfortunately have moments where I am less than Christ like this just means that I will be praying for the Lord to change my heart and to see people, yes even rude people through His eyes.

What do you do to remind you that God loves and cares for everyone and so should we?

2 Comments

Filed under Godly women, Life of a Mom

2 responses to “How Rude!

  1. Being a mommy of little ones AND pregnant is NOT easy. If Amazon Prime had been around when our two were little, I probably would have quit going out shopping all together ;). I’ve had a hard time in my life with being critical, so I have to pray every day that God lets me see the person HE wants me to see, not the one I see and casually criticize in my head.

    Like

Leave a Reply

