Finding Your Fulfilling Purpose

“who saved us, and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before times eternal,”
2 Timothy 1:9

Reading this verse made me question what God’s purpose for my life wastumblr_m8lzbhQQ2x1rr4b87 and was I fulfilling it? I really struggled that staying home taking care of the kids was my full purpose in life that there  had to be more something bigger I was meant to do. My husband goes to work everyday and comes home with a new story about who he shared the Gospel with and I think to myself how rewarding that must feel going to bat for God everyday.

It wasn’t until I shared my concerns with my pastor’s wife when she so lovingly explained to me that every victory my husband has is a victory I share with him. He wouldn’t be able to do what he does with out the support of me praying for him and taking care of the kids and household. She also went on to explain that since my children are so young God may have me in a season where my family is my purpose and when they are older perhaps God will have different plans. I was so encouraged by what she had to say and the fact that she too struggled with the same thing when her children were young. (Shows the importance of sharing with one or two trusted people because if I was left alone with my thoughts I could of easily fallen into a depression.)

having the eyes of your heart enlightened, that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints, (Ephesians 1:18)

So with a new outlook on my life I am finding fulfillment in the smallest of things. When my daughter remembers something we learned in home school or when my youngest prays when we have a meal.

jeremiah 29 11Since I struggled to find my fulfilling purpose at first, I will be doing a series every Friday of other women who found God’s purpose for their lives. I hope this series encourages you to listen for God’s voice and obey so you may live up to your potential!

10 Comments

Filed under Godly women, Good News, Life of a Mom, Purpose, Womenhood

10 responses to “Finding Your Fulfilling Purpose

  1. As you are pouring into your children, you are preparing them for life. You are sharing the gospel with them and giving them the tools they will need to go out into the world. Every person they reach with the truth that you have shared with them is also part of your victory. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the encouragement! It is very easy to forget about our callings as mothers when we’re battling temper tantrums, long days and short nights! Visiting from Equipping Godly Women

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am glad you enjoyed the post and thank you for your comments. Motherhood is such a challenge and I have to remind myself to ask for God’s help daily especially with my 3 year old. 😉

    Like

  4. Although I am not a mom yet, I can understand how stay at home moms can sometimes feel unfilled, lonely, left wondering, “is this it?!” From watching others with children, being a parent is a very tough job. It sounds like you are instilling wonderful values into your children and are a very supportive wife. Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comment! There are days I really miss before kids but then a moment happens when they tell me they love me. Wouldn’t trade that for the world, it makes everything worth it.

      Like

  5. Many of us, at one time or the other, have struggled with whether or not we are fulfilling God’s purpose for our lives. However what has helped me is understanding that God has called me as a mother to raise Godly seeds (Malachi 2:15). For me this is the most valuable thing to do to fulfill God’s plan and purpose. It’s a blessing you have the opportunity to do that, keep enjoying it. When the time is right, God may call you into something different. We just should keep trusting Him every step of the way. God’s blessings.

    Like

    • I am so happy you also are fulfilling God’s purpose for your life. Thank you for sharing that verse with me I wrote it down and plan to put it on my mirror. I love it when we share the verses that get us through life.

      Like

  6. I love how God uses our Christian sisters to guide us from their experience & how He brings purpose to the smallest of tasks. Thanks for sharing this encouraging post, Heather. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brittany at EquippingGodlyWomen.com

    Your pastor’s wife sounds like a wise lady! Did you see this article that went viral this week? It’s not mine or anything. I just think you’d really enjoy it. http://www.babble.com/relationships/being-a-stay-at-home-parent-is-a-luxury-for-your-spouse/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

